SUSTAINABLE POPULATION LINKS

Organizations & Others Who Make the Connection between Human Population Growth and the Health of the Environment on Their Web Site

I (environmental impact) = P (population size) x A (affluence or consumption) x T (technology used)
“Think Globally and Act Locally” – Including When It Comes to Population!


All of the organizations below express on their web site some concern or reference to population growth ranging from the entire organization being about population, to a page about it, or maybe just a badge or link to the VSPop site.



Vermont Based

350vt.org – http://www.350vt.org
Donella Meadows Institute - http://www.donellameadows.org/fellow-traveler/
Energize Vermont – http://energizevermont.org/other-resources/
Green Energy Times - http://www.greenenergytimes.org
Hunger Mountain Coop - http://hungermountain.coop/Default.aspx?tabid=91
Local Motion – http://www.localmotion.org/advocacy/partners
Population Media Center - http://www.populationmedia.org
      Global Population Speak Out - https://populationspeakout.org/
Sierra Club, Vermont Chapter - http://vermont.sierraclub.org
Transition Vermont – http://transitionvermont.ning.com/
Vermont Bicycle and Pedestrian Coalition – www.vtbikeped.org
Vermont Interfaith Power and Light - http://www.vtipl.org/links
Vermonters for a Clean Environment – http://www.vce.org
Vermont Peak Oil Network - http://www.vtpeakoil.net
Vermont Reptile and Amphibian Atlas - http://community.middlebury.edu/~herpatlas


New England Region
*Forest Ecology Network – http://www.forestecologynetwork.org/forests%20%26%20human%20population.html
New England Coalition for a Sustainable Population - http://www.necsp.org

Other Organizations
Advocates for a Sustainable Albemarle Population - http://www.asapnow.org/
Audubon (Vermont chapter office in Huntington) – http://www.audubon.org/campaign/population_habitat/
Blue Planet United - http://www.blueplanetunited.org/
Californians for Population Stabilizations - http://www.capsweb.org/index.php
Carry Capacity Network – http://www.carryingcpacity.org
Center for the Advancement of a Steady State Economy – http://www.steadystate.org
Center for Biological Diversity - http://www.biologicaldiversity.org/swcbd/index.html
Children and Nature Network - http://www.cnaturenet.org/news/detail/
Colcom Foundation - http://www.colcomfdn.org/
Center for the Environment and Population - http://www.cepnet.org
Comprehensive U.S. Sustainable Population - http://www.uscongress-enviroscore.org/cuspframes.html
Conservation International - http://web.conservation.org/xp/CIWEB/programs/population/
Controlling Growth in our Communities – http://www.conttrolgrowth.org
Council on Global Issues - http://www.c-g-i.info/who.html
Diversity Alliance for a Sustainable America - http://www.diversityalliance.org/
Ecological Buddhism - http://www.ecobuddhism.org/index.php
E Magazine - http://www.emagazine.com/
Earth Policy Institute - http://www.earth-policy.org/
Encyclopedia of Earth - http://www.eoearth.org/article/Human_population_explosion
Endow-Bio - http://www.endow-bio.org/
Environmental Defense Fund - http://www.edf.org/article.cfm?contentid=2503
Floridians for a Sustainable Population - http://www.flsuspop.org/
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations - http://www.fao.org
Foundation for Deep Ecology –http:// www.deepecology.org/
Gaia Preservation Coalition - http://www.gaiapc.ca/
Global Footprint Network - http://www.footprintnetwork.org/
Global Population Education - http://www.globalpopulationeducation.com/
His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet - http://www.dalailama.com/page.68.htm/
Horizon Solutions - http://www.solutions-site.org/artman/publish/
Human Population Crisis http://www.cosmosmith.com/human_population_crisis.htm
Izaak Walton League - http://www.iwla.org/index.php?id=11
Lovearth Network – http://www.sustainability.net
National Center for Science and the Environment – http://www.nnsconline.org
National Wildlife Federation (regional office in Montpelier) - http://www.nwf.org/population/
Nature Reports Climate Change - http://www.nature.com/climate/index.html
Negative Population Growth – http://www.npg.org
NumbersUSA - http://www.numbersusa.com
Optimum Population Trust – http://www.optimumpopulation.org
PCI Media Impact - http://www.population.org/index.shtml
People and the Planet - http://www.peopleandplanet.net/
Pew Charitable Trusts - http://www.pewtrusts.org/our_work_category.aspx?ID=110
Planned Parenthood - http://www.plannedparenthood.org/ppcw/earth-day.htm
Population Action International – http://www.populationaction.org/
Population and Sustainability Network - http://www.populationandsustainability.org/index.php
Population Connection – http://www.populationconnection.org/
Population Council – http://www.popcouncil.org/
Population Environmental Balance – http://www.balance.org/
Population-Environment Research Network - http://www.populationenvironmentresearch.org/index.jsp
Population Institute – http://www.populationinstitute.org/?gclid=CMex24zz6I0CFRqWGgodH0P20g
Population Matters – http://www.populationmatters.org/
Population Press - http://www.populationpress.org/
Population Reference Bureau – http://www.prb.org
Population Resource Center - http://www.prcdc.org/
Religious Consultation on Population, Reproductive Health and Ethics – http://www.religiousconsultation.org/
Rewilding Institute - http://www.rewilding.org/
Richard and Rhoda Goldman Fund - http://www.goldmanfund.org/html/grants/seekers/areas-population.html
Rotary International - http://www.rifpd.org/
Scientists and Environmentalists for Population Stabilization – http://www.populationstabilization.org/index.html
Sierra Club (Vermont chapter is hiring a part time person to work out of his or her home, probably in Chittenden County) - http://www.sierraclub.org/international/
Sierrans for U.S. Population Stabilization - http://www.susps.org/
Sprawl City - http://www.sprawlcity.org/
Stanford Knowledge Integration Laboratory - http://www.skil.org/
The Bulletin Online Global Security News and Analysis - http://www.thebulletin.org/search.html
Think Population – http://www.thinkpopulation.org/
Union of Concerned Scientists Sound Science Initiative - http://www.ucsusa.org/ssi/biodiversity/population-and-environment-linkages.html
United Nations Population Fund - http://www.unfpa.org/swp/2007/english/introduction.html
Wallace Global Fund - http://www.wgf.org/index.html
Weeden Foundation - http://www.cals.wisc.edu/research/Funding/abstracts/weeden.html
Wildlife Conservation Society - http://www.wcs.org/sw-our_mission
Wiser Earth - http://www.wiserearth.org/aof/118
Woods Hole Research Center - http://www.whrc.org/new_england/index.htm
Woods Hole Research Center - http://www.whrc.org/new_england/index.htm
World Clock - http://www.chippynews.com/worldclock.htm
World Data Centers for Human Interactions in the Environment –http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/wdc/population.jsp
World Population Awareness - http://www.population-awareness.org/
World Population Balance - http://www.worldpopulationbalance.org/
World Watch Institute - http://www.worldwatch.org/
World Wildlife Federation – http://www.panda.org/


If your favorite organization that has some connection to our earth, be it environmental, spiritual or otherwise, does not make the connection between the health of the earth ecosystems and human population size and growth on its web site you might want to ask the executive director or a board member why not.

Individual environmental writers, move makers, activists and others

Timothy S. Bennett, the movie What a Way to Go: Life at the End of an Empirehttp://whatawaytogomovie.com/
Dell Erickson, Sustainable Population Levels: Using Footprint Data –
http://www.mnforsustain.org/erickson_d_determining_sustainable_population_levels.htm/

John Feeny, Ph.d. blog site - http://growthmadness.org/
Jeanie Fitchen, folksinger, Changes in the Wind/No More on her Roads CD – http://www.jfitchen.com/
Edward C. Hartman, the book The Population Fix: Breaking America’s Addiction to Population Growth - http://www.thepopulaltionfix.com/
Thomas Hartmann, the book The Last Hours of Ancient Sunlight – http://www.thomhartmann.com/deathof.shtml/
Al Kuper, Comprehensive U.S. Sustainable Population - http://www.uscongress-enviroscore.org/
Bill McKibben, the book Maybe One: The Case for Smaller Families - http://www.billmckibben.com/
Peter Russell, the book From Science to God – http://www.peterrussell.dreamhosters.com/Odds/WorldClock.php/
James Gustave Speth, the book Red Sky as Morning - http://www.redskyatmorning.com
Dan Quinn, the book The Story of B -http://ishmael.org/Origins/Story_of_B/
Trinifar blog site - http://trinifar.wordpress.com/
Alan Weisman, the book The World Without Us - http://www.worldwithoutus.com/about_author.html

Many polls also show that the U.S. public in general is also concerned about population size.

Here is just one example:
Informed that U.S. population is projected to grow to 420 million by 2050, fifty-seven percent of respondents believed that the present U.S. population of 300 million or less would be best for the country in the long run.

Roper ASW Poll conducted for Negative Population Growth (NPG), April 14-16, 2006

*Examples of state/regional organizations that have given a separate page to population.